Fiction Contest Closed & Past Winners

As of yesterday, our annual fiction contest has come to a close. We’ve received nearly 400 entries from a number of countries and we thank all of you that have submitted. Our team now focuses on the hardest part – narrowing down to our top list. The winner, finalists, semifinalists, and honorable mentions will be announced in the coming months, but for now, we’d like to take the chance to look at some previous winners of our contest.

The Quality of Mercy by Katayoun Medhat, our 2016 winner, will be released this September. Mercy tells the story of K – aka Franz Kafka – on the trail of clues to a murder in a small town. Along the way through the rural Southwest, K meets Robbie Begay, a Navajo tribal cop and through their journey, the unlikely duo reveals much about intercultural relations and the crossing of our own borders. With this being Medhat’s debut novel, the story sings with a depth of cultural wisdom that ensures more to come from this Iranian scholar,

The Solace of Monsters by Laurie Blauner was our 2015 winner. The novel is told from the perspective of Mara F., a Frankenstein-like creation made by a grieving scientist.  Throughout her travels and exchanges with her father, we are asked to think about how parts make up a whole; the repercussions of ethical, emotional, and moral issues; and what constitutes solace for different people. Blauner’s work has previously appeared in The Georgia Review, American Poetry Review, Mississippi Review, The Colorado Review, and others. She’s the author of four novels, a novella, and eight books of poetry.

In 2014, we saw The Lonesome Trials of Johnny Riles by Gregory Hill take the top spot. This novel was the prequel to Hill’s East of Denver, which won the 2013 Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction. Trials tells the gritty story of two brothers at odds in Stratford County. Hill is currenly working on the third book in the series, tentatively titled Zebra Skin Shirt.

To read more about these winners and more from our past contests, visit out website. Again, we thank everyone for submitting to our contest and your continued interest in being Leapfrogian.

About Leapfrog Press
Leapfrog Press was created to search out, publish, and aggressively market books that tell a strong story. Leapfrog began its life in Wellfleet, Mass., at the outer end of Cape Cod, in 1993. In 2008 we migrated to Falmouth, Mass., and in 2012 we made the move to Fredonia, N.Y., a town with a rich creative history and an equally rich present in the arts and science. Our list is eclectic and includes quality fiction, poetry, and nonfiction; books that are described by the large commercial publishers as midlist, and which we regard as the heart and soul of literature.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: